Welcome from the Chair of Governors

Whenever I visit Thorpedene Primary School I come away thinking ‘Wow that was good’. There is so much to be proud of in our school. Performances, celebration assemblies, tournaments, science days, music festivals, Children’s University… or simply walking round the school and seeing children at work in their classroom. I am always impressed; if you are able to visit the school I am confident that you will agree.


On September 1st 2016 we became an academy and part of a Multi-Academy Trust based in Thorpe Bay and Shoebury. This has further eased the transition to secondary school, and we look forward to the benefits of sharing resources and expertise that will follow.

We run Little Pirates, a successful Breakfast Club, After-School Club and Holiday Club, which are beneficial to both children and parents.

There are plenty of different sporting opportunities at Thorpedene, now recognised as the most improved school in sport in the Borough. Furthermore, pupils are encouraged to extend their learning beyond school through the Children’s University, culminating in a graduation ceremony.

We have a strong PA, which not only raises money, but also makes sure children are supported at events such as providing gifts and cards for Mothers’ Day.

Our close links with St. Augustine’s Church help us achieve our vision of achieving, caring and respecting with confidence. We have regular walks to the church to celebrate events such as Christmas and Easter. The children enjoy taking part in singing, reading at the pulpit, the special atmosphere when lighting their candles around the church during the Christingle.

The governors are delighted with the accelerated progress that has been made in the past year thanks to the team of dedicated staff led by a strong Senior Leadership team.

We would love you to come and see us, I am sure you won’t be disappointed.

With good wishes,

Pam Dewey, Chair of Governors


Welcome to the section of the website where you can find out more about our school’s governors, and the work that they do. As part of Southend East Community Academy Trust (SECAT) the overall responsibility for governance is now with the Trustees of that Trust.

The following academies are currently part of SECAT:

  • Thorpedene Primary School
  • Shoeburyness High School
  • Hinguar Community Primary School and Nursery
  • Bournes Green Infant School
  • Bournes Green Junior School
  • Richmond Primary School and Nursery

The Trustees have delegated considerable responsibility to what is now known as ‘the local governing body’ (LGB). The role of Thorpedene Primary School LGB is to promote high standards, ensuring that pupils are attending a successful school which provides them with a good education and supports their wellbeing. The LGB is responsible to the Board of Trustees of SECAT for their actions. They follow the expectations of governors as laid down by the trustees and aim to:

  • establish that they are competent, accountable, independent and diverse, promoting best practice in governance
  • ensure that governors promote and uphold high standards of conduct, probity and ethics

As a Local Governing Body we have a range of duties and a general responsibility for the conduct of the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement and academic standards, managing the school’s finances, making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based, appointing staff, reviewing performance and pay, safeguarding, child protection, Health And Safety, to name a few.

We continue to have considerable discretion as to how to discharge our responsibilities and will, for the time being, remain constituted roughly as we were prior to converting to an academy. As a result our governing body is comprised of voting members from the following categories:

The Headteacher

3 Parent governors – selected by election (or appointment if insufficient people stand for election)

One Staff governor – apart from the headteacher, selected by election from teaching and support staff paid to work at the school

10 Co-Opted governors – appointed by the governing body and likely to be people living or working in the community served by the school.

Within the governing body we have delegated certain responsibilities to specific governors for areas such as Safeguarding, Inclusion and, the four phases of the school,

The governing body meets at least twice a term and all meetings use a professional Clerk to record minutes and provide advice on legal matters relating to governor responsibilities. The current list of governors is given below.

Headteacher & Governor

Shelley Walsh

Co-opted Governors

Pam Dewey, Katie Howard, Graham Lane, Colin Russell, Allison Small, Rev Chris Giles, Clare Dye, Mark Murphy, Paul Shepherd.

Staff Governor

Karen Scanes

Parent Governors

Stuart Heron, Joanna Amos, Carly Quick-Crockford.


If you wish to know more, or are interested in becoming a governor, please contact us care of the School Office.


Please click here to see the review of what the governors have done in 2016-2017


Please click here to see a more detailed list of governors for 2017/18, and the Register of Interests.



For Governors Log in page, please click here

Notice Board2

Upcoming Events

  1. End of Year Assembly

    18 July @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
  2. School Open Afternoon

    18 July @ 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  3. Year 6 Leavers Trip – Rolla City

    19 July @ 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  4. Year 6 Leavers Assembly

    20 July @ 9:30 am - 11:00 am
  5. Last day of Summer Term

    20 July @ 3:20 pm
Term DatesNewsletterMenuOfstedPupile PremiumSports PremiumCurriculum Statment